- The Short Answer: CPE Means Certified Professional Ergonomist
- Who Awards the Credential and What It Certifies
- The Three Domains the Exam Is Built Around
- What the Exam Actually Looks Like
- Eligibility: Degree Credits, Experience, and the Portfolio
- Fees, Windows, and Deadlines
- Scaled Scoring and What Pass Data Does and Doesn't Show
- CPE Compared With CHFP and CEAS
- Who Hires CPEs and What the Salary Data Supports
- Keeping the Credential: Annual Fee and 100 Points
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domain Weights
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CPE here means Certified Professional Ergonomist, awarded by the Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics (BCPE).
- The exam has three domains: Analyze 38%, Design 40%, and Integrate (Implement-Validate) 22%.
- Format is 125 English multiple-choice questions in a three-hour window, delivered through Kryterion.
- Passing is a scaled 350 on a 200-500 scale, not a raw 70%.
The Short Answer: CPE Means Certified Professional Ergonomist
On this site, CPE stands for Certified Professional Ergonomist. It is the professional-level credential in ergonomics and human factors, and it signals that a practitioner has been evaluated against an established set of core competencies rather than simply having attended a course. The acronym is shared by other, unrelated credentials in other fields, so if you landed here looking for one of those, this article does not cover them. Everything below concerns the ergonomics credential and nothing else.
If you want a quick orientation on the terminology itself, our short explainers on what CPE stands for and the meaning of CPE cover the naming question. This article goes further and explains what the credential involves, how you earn it, and what it costs to get and keep.
Who Awards the Credential and What It Certifies
The credential is governed by the Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics (BCPE), and the official designation is CPE. BCPE maintains the competency framework, reviews applications and work samples, contracts the examination delivery, and administers the ongoing renewal system.
What the credential certifies is practice-level competence across the full arc of an ergonomics project: analyzing a work system and its demands, designing solutions, and then carrying those solutions through implementation and validation. That framing matters because it shapes the exam. Candidates who think of ergonomics as "adjusting a monitor and a chair" are often surprised by how much of the exam deals with cognitive demands, interface and software considerations, task and job design, and organizational factors.
BCPE uses a single professional competency and examination framework for both the CPE and the CHFP (Certified Human Factors Professional). There are not separate discipline-specific syllabi for each. The two credentials are discussed further in the comparison section below.
The Three Domains the Exam Is Built Around
The formal exam objectives come from the BCPE Core Competencies with Knowledge and Skills, dated July 2019 and implemented for examinations beginning in fall 2020. They remain the current competency source. The allocation is three domains:
| Domain | Weight | Think of it as |
|---|---|---|
| Analyze | 38% | Understanding the work system, the people in it, and where the mismatch lies |
| Design | 40% | Creating solutions across physical, cognitive, interface, task, and organizational dimensions |
| Integrate (Implement-Validate) | 22% | Putting solutions in place and confirming they worked |
Design is the largest domain, and it deserves the most attention in your preparation. For a deeper walk-through of all three, see our complete guide to the CPE exam domains.
Domain 1: Analyze (38%)
This domain is about characterizing the situation before changing anything. Expect questions that ask what you would investigate first, which method fits a given problem, or how to interpret what an assessment reveals.
- Defining the problem scope and the people, tasks, equipment, and environment involved
- Selecting appropriate analysis methods for physical, cognitive, and organizational concerns
- Recognizing risk factors and human capabilities and limitations
- Working from realistic case scenarios, not just workstation setups
Domain 2: Design (40%)
The heaviest-weighted domain covers translating analysis into solutions. It spans far more than furniture and tools.
- Physical design: workspaces, tools, controls, displays, and handling tasks
- Cognitive design: workload, attention, information presentation, and error
- Software and interface design: usability and interaction considerations
- Task and job design: sequencing, pacing, and demands placed on workers
- Organizational design: how structure, communication, and policy shape performance
Domain 3: Integrate (Implement-Validate) (22%)
The smallest domain, but not one to skip. It tests whether you can move from a recommended design to a working, verified outcome.
- Planning implementation and managing change with stakeholders
- Training, communication, and rollout considerations
- Defining measures of success and validating that the intervention worked
- Following up and adjusting when results fall short
What the Exam Actually Looks Like
The current administration, per the BCPE Exam Fact Sheet 2026, runs through Kryterion. You can test by online remote proctoring or at an onsite test center.
- 125 multiple-choice questions, in English
- A three-hour examination window
- The split between scored and unscored items is not publicly specified
- No adaptive format has been verified
Items carry equal value, forms are statistically equated, and there is no guessing penalty, so answering every question is always the right call.
Remote-Proctoring Rules Worth Knowing in Advance
If you test remotely, plan for strict conditions. You must complete system and security checks, satisfy identification requirements, and accept camera monitoring. No breaks are permitted during a remote session, and leaving camera view can end it. Personal calculators, phones, watches, and other prohibited items are not allowed. A built-in calculator, notepad, and timer are supplied, so practice with on-screen tools rather than a handheld device.
Scheduling changes carry a $150 late-change charge, but the sources disagree on the cutoff: the examination page describes a 72-hour rescheduling cutoff, while the fee page describes seven days. Confirm the terms attached to your actual booking rather than assuming either.
For a realistic sense of how demanding the test is, our CPE difficulty guide breaks down what trips candidates up, and you can sharpen your skills with scenario-style questions on the main practice test site.
Eligibility: Degree Credits, Experience, and the Portfolio
Qualifying for the CPE is a three-part test of education, experience, and demonstrated work, and the application is reviewed before you ever sit for the exam.
Education
You qualify through one of two routes:
- A graduate degree from a program listed in the HFES Graduate Directory, or
- A bachelor's degree in any subject plus at least 24 semester credits in specified human-factors/ergonomics categories.
BCPE distinguishes units carefully: 24 semester credits corresponds to 36 quarter credits or 360 acceptable instructional contact hours. A short unrelated bootcamp is not automatically equivalent, so verify your coursework against the official educational requirement before building your plan around it.
Experience
You need at least three full-time-equivalent years of relevant professional work. Applicants provide employer verification contacts. Relevant internships, research, or teaching may count, subject to review. No additional fixed recommendation-letter count has been verified.
The Work-Sample Portfolio
Instead of a separately timed practical exam, the application includes a portfolio of work samples demonstrating the three competencies:
- Up to six samples, with two demonstrations per competency (overlap is possible)
- At least two samples from the past five years; others within ten years
- Each sample limited to 20 pages
- Samples must reflect your own contribution and may be redacted
Our CPE requirements guide goes deeper on prerequisites and how to qualify.
Fees, Windows, and Deadlines
Current USD fees from BCPE:
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $195 |
| Examination fee | $450 |
| Combined initial application and exam | $645 |
| Existing BCPE Associates | $450 exam fee only (no new application fee) |
| Retake | $450 |
| Annual professional renewal | $195 |
No member versus nonmember examination tier is listed. See the CPE certification cost breakdown for budgeting detail.
Exam Windows and Application Deadlines
The exam is offered in two windows each year:
- April 1-30, with an application deadline of the preceding November 30
- September 1-30, with an application deadline of April 30
Because the portfolio review happens before testing, those deadlines are effectively your real start date. Our CPE exam dates guide covers scheduling in more detail.
Retakes
A retake costs $450 and is limited to once per examination window. Repeated attempts are permitted within the two-year application-eligibility period; after that, you must reapply.
Scaled Scoring and What Pass Data Does and Doesn't Show
The passing criterion is a scaled score of 350 on a 200-500 scale. This is not a 70% raw-correct threshold, and you should not translate it into a number of questions you must answer correctly. Because forms are statistically equated, a scaled score accounts for small differences in difficulty between exam versions. Results are generally provided within four weeks after the exam window closes. More on this in our CPE passing score guide.
Cohort Results, With Denominators
BCPE's newsletters publish cohort results. The latest verified figures:
| Cohort | Passed / Candidates | Published rate |
|---|---|---|
| Spring 2025 | 18 of 36 | 50% |
| Fall 2025 | 19 of 36 | 53% (rounded) |
| Spring 2026 | 15 of 38 | Printed as 40% |
Note that 15 of 38 works out to roughly 39.5%, so the printed 40% is a rounding of the underlying counts. Just as important, these figures describe shared cohorts of professional and Associate-to-Professional candidates. They are not CPE-only annual, first-time, or overall pass rates for 2026. The 86% and 87% figures in the newsletters concern renewal compliance in Continuance of Certification, not exam success. The CPE pass rate analysis explores how to read these numbers responsibly.
CPE Compared With CHFP and CEAS
CPE vs. CHFP. Both are BCPE credentials that share one professional competency and examination framework. The difference lies in the designation and professional orientation rather than in separate syllabi, so preparation for one is substantially preparation for the other.
CPE vs. CEAS. The CEAS (Certified Ergonomics Assessment Specialist) is a narrower assessment-focused credential. It is not the same level or scope as the professional credential discussed here. Practitioners who primarily conduct workplace assessments sometimes start there, while the CPE targets the broader analyze-design-integrate scope of professional practice. If you are weighing the two, confirm current requirements with each credentialing body, since their eligibility pathways differ.
Who Hires CPEs and What the Salary Data Supports
Employers that value this credential tend to be organizations where human performance, safety, and system design intersect: manufacturers, healthcare systems, consulting firms, government and defense contractors, technology companies with product usability needs, and insurers and safety organizations. The credential is often most relevant to roles that involve leading ergonomics programs, advising on product or workplace design, or defending recommendations to engineers and executives. See our overview of CPE jobs for more.
On compensation, the one credential-specific data point is PayScale, which displays a $110,000 average base salary (USD) from a self-reported sample of 39 respondents, updated November 12, 2025. Treat this cautiously. It is a small, self-selected sample, not a representative 2026 salary distribution, and it is not evidence that certification causes a pay premium. Pay varies with experience, industry, and region. Our CPE salary guide and the ROI analysis explore this in context.
Keeping the Credential: Annual Fee and 100 Points
Certification is not permanent. Maintaining it involves two things:
- An annual fee of $195
- A five-year Continuance of Certification (CoC) cycle requiring at least 100 activity points across at least two of five activity categories, with documentation, possible audit, and ethical compliance
These are activity points, not 100 continuing education units, so do not assume a CEU count converts directly. Spreading your activities across categories from the start of the cycle, and keeping documentation as you go, prevents a scramble near the end.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domain Weights
Because Design carries 40% and Analyze 38%, roughly four-fifths of the exam sits in those two areas, which should shape how you order your time. A sensible sequence is to begin with Analyze, since analysis methods underpin everything downstream, then spend the longest stretch on Design across physical, cognitive, interface, task, and organizational topics, and finish with Integrate, which is smaller and benefits from the context you have already built.
Analyze foundations
- Review core competencies and map your own project history to them
- Practice choosing methods for varied case scenarios
Design, the heavy lift
- Cover physical, cognitive, software/interface, task, and organizational design
- Do not let workstation topics crowd out the cognitive and organizational material
Integrate and full review
- Study implementation planning and validation measures
- Take timed sets of 125 questions to rehearse the three-hour pace
Key Takeaway
Use the official BCPE sample questions with answers (July 2021) as a baseline, then add scenario-based practice. BCPE does not endorse any commercial prep product, so evaluate any provider's claims, including pass-rate assertions, with skepticism. Our CPE study guide and cheat sheet can anchor your review, and the practice test platform offers extra question practice.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Professional Ergonomist, the professional credential awarded by the Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics (BCPE). It is separate from other credentials that happen to share the same three letters.
The exam has 125 English multiple-choice questions with a three-hour examination window, delivered by Kryterion through remote proctoring or at a test center. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified.
A scaled score of 350 on a 200-500 scale. It is not a 70% raw-correct cutoff. Items are equally weighted, forms are statistically equated, and there is no guessing penalty.
Initial application and exam charges total $645 ($195 application plus $450 exam). Existing BCPE Associates pay only the $450 exam fee. Retakes are $450, and annual professional renewal is $195.
Possibly. A bachelor's degree in any subject can qualify if paired with at least 24 semester credits in specified human-factors/ergonomics categories, plus three full-time-equivalent years of relevant work and a portfolio of work samples. Verify your coursework against BCPE's educational requirement.