- Identity Check: Which CPE This Sheet Covers
- The Exam at a Glance
- The Three Domains and Their Weights
- Scoring: What a Scaled 350 Means
- Fees, Windows, and Deadlines
- Eligibility and the Work Sample Portfolio
- Test-Day Rules for Remote and Onsite Candidates
- Cohort Results With Denominators
- CPE vs CHFP vs CEAS
- Staying Certified: Fees and 100 Points
- Salary Context and Its Limits
- A Domain-Weighted Study Map
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The exam has 125 English multiple-choice questions in a three-hour window, delivered by Kryterion.
- Domain weights are Analyze 38%, Design 40%, and Integrate (Implement-Validate) 22%.
- You pass with a scaled score of 350 on a 200-500 scale, not 70% raw.
- Initial application plus exam fees total $645; retakes cost $450.
Identity Check: Which CPE This Sheet Covers
Several credentials share the acronym "CPE," and mixing them up is a common and costly mistake. This cheat sheet covers only the Certified Professional Ergonomist credential, awarded by the Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics (BCPE). It is the professional-level ergonomics certification, not an introductory ergonomics certificate and not any other credential that happens to abbreviate the same way. If you want a plain-language orientation first, see What Is CPE Certification? or What Does CPE Stand For?.
Everything below is meant to fit on a single printed page in your head: format, weights, fees, rules, and the traps that catch candidates who rely on vendor marketing instead of BCPE's own documents.
The Exam at a Glance
| Item | Must-Know Fact |
|---|---|
| Governing body | Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics (BCPE) |
| Designation | CPE |
| Delivery | Kryterion; online remote proctoring or an onsite test center |
| Questions | 125 multiple-choice, English |
| Time | Three-hour examination window |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Split not publicly specified |
| Format | No adaptive format verified |
| Results | Generally within four weeks after the exam window closes |
| Content source | BCPE Core Competencies (July 2019), used for exams beginning fall 2020 |
The content outline is the BCPE Examination Content Outline and Core Competencies with Knowledge and Skills. No replacement 2026 blueprint has been verified; BCPE's 2026 newsletter describes competency-review work, not a published new outline. Treat the 2019 document as your current syllabus and check BCPE's competency page periodically for changes. The administrative details above come from the BCPE Exam Fact Sheet 2026, which is a logistics document, not a domain blueprint.
For a candid look at how this format feels in practice, read How Hard Is the CPE Exam?.
The Three Domains and Their Weights
The official allocation has three domains. Memorize the names and the percentages; they should drive how you divide study hours.
Domain 1: Analyze (38%)
This is the investigative side of the profession: understanding the work, the people doing it, and the problems that need solving before any intervention is chosen.
- Expect scenario-style items that ask what to assess first and which method fits the situation.
- Think beyond the office workstation: manufacturing, healthcare, logistics, and field work all appear in realistic professional cases.
- Be ready to reason about data, user populations, task demands, and risk factors, not just recite definitions.
Domain 2: Design (40%)
The largest domain. It covers creating or modifying systems, products, tasks, and environments so they fit human capabilities and limitations.
- Physical design: workstations, tools, controls, layout, and manual handling situations.
- Cognitive design: workload, attention, error, decision support, and information presentation.
- Software and interface design: usability, display and control logic, and human-system interaction.
- Task and organizational design: job structure, work-rest patterns, staffing, and the social and management context.
Domain 3: Integrate (Implement-Validate) (22%)
The smallest domain, but not the easiest. It tests whether you can get a solution adopted and prove that it worked.
- Implementation planning, stakeholder communication, training, and change management.
- Validation: measuring outcomes against the original problem and deciding what to adjust.
- Professional judgment about constraints, ethics, and limits of your own scope.
You can also pressure-test your recall against realistic items on the main practice test site, then map every miss back to one of these three domains.
Scoring: What a Scaled 350 Means
The passing criterion is a scaled score of 350 on a 200-500 scale. It is not "70% raw correct," and you should delete any rule of thumb that says otherwise.
- Equal item value: every scored item carries the same weight.
- Equated forms: different exam forms are statistically equated so that a 350 represents the same standard regardless of which form you receive.
- No guessing penalty: answer every question; a blank can never beat a guess.
Because scaled scores are not a simple percentage, you cannot reverse-engineer an exact number of questions you can afford to miss. Your goal should be strong, balanced performance across all three domains instead of gaming a threshold. The details are in CPE Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Fees, Windows, and Deadlines
| Item | Amount or Date |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $195 |
| Examination fee | $450 |
| Combined initial charges | $645 |
| Existing BCPE Associates | No new application fee; pay the $450 exam fee |
| Retake | $450, once per exam window |
| Annual professional renewal | $195 |
| Spring window | April 1-30 (application deadline: preceding November 30) |
| Fall window | September 1-30 (application deadline: April 30) |
| Late-change charge | $150 |
Two mechanics matter most. First, no member/nonmember examination price tier is listed, so ignore any article implying one. Second, repeated attempts are permitted within your two-year application-eligibility period, after which you must reapply. The full financial picture is in CPE Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and scheduling specifics are in CPE Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Eligibility and the Work Sample Portfolio
You must qualify before you can sit for the exam. The pathway has several parts:
- Education: a graduate degree from a program in the HFES Graduate Directory, or a bachelor's degree in any subject plus at least 24 semester credits in specified human-factors/ergonomics categories.
- Credit equivalence: 24 semester credits corresponds to 36 quarter credits or 360 acceptable instructional contact hours. An unrelated short bootcamp is not automatically equivalent.
- Experience: at least three full-time-equivalent years of relevant professional work.
- Documents: approved transcripts, work history, employer verification contacts, work samples, ethics commitments, and fees.
There is no separately timed practical exam. Instead, you submit a portfolio of work samples:
- Up to six samples demonstrating the three competencies, with two demonstrations per competency; overlap is possible.
- At least two samples must come from the past five years; the others may be within ten years.
- Each sample is limited to 20 pages.
- Samples must reflect your own contribution and may be redacted for confidentiality.
- Relevant internships, research, or teaching work may count, subject to review.
No additional fixed recommendation-letter count was verified, so follow the current application instructions instead of assuming a number. Full eligibility detail lives in CPE Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Key Takeaway
Start assembling work samples early. Choose projects where your personal role is clearly documentable, and map each one to Analyze, Design, or Integrate so the portfolio mirrors the exam's own structure.
Test-Day Rules for Remote and Onsite Candidates
Remote proctoring is convenient but unforgiving. Know these rules before exam day:
- Complete the system and security checks ahead of time, and follow identification and camera-monitoring requirements.
- No breaks are permitted during remote testing. Leaving camera view can end your session.
- Personal calculators, phones, watches, and other prohibited items are not allowed.
- A built-in calculator, notepad, and timer are supplied inside the exam interface, so practice with on-screen tools rather than a handheld device.
Over a three-hour window with no breaks, stamina and pacing are part of the exam. Do at least one full-length timed practice run, ideally at the same time of day as your scheduled session.
Cohort Results With Denominators
Beware of any site that quotes a single confident "CPE pass rate." The only verified data points are cohort figures from BCPE's newsletters, and they describe shared professional and Associate-to-Professional examination cohorts, not CPE-only annual, first-time, or overall 2026 pass rates.
| Cohort | Passed / Candidates | Published Figure |
|---|---|---|
| Spring 2025 | 18 of 36 | 50% |
| Fall 2025 | 19 of 36 | 53% (rounded) |
| Spring 2026 | 15 of 38 | 40% printed in the newsletter table |
Note the discrepancy in the last row: 15 of 38 is approximately 39.5%, so the printed 40% is a rounded figure, not an exact calculation. Keep the counts, not just the percentage. Separately, newsletter figures of 86% and 87% relate to Continuance of Certification renewal compliance and have nothing to do with exam success. For interpretation, see CPE Pass Rate: What the Data Shows.
CPE vs CHFP vs CEAS
Candidates often ask which credential fits them. A few anchor facts:
- CPE and CHFP use the same professional competency and exam framework. They are not separate discipline-specific syllabi, so studying the Analyze/Design/Integrate competencies prepares you for either.
- CEAS is a different, associate-level style credential with a narrower scope; it is not a substitute for the professional exam described here.
The practical difference is the designation you want to hold and the nature of your professional practice, not a different body of knowledge between CPE and CHFP. Confirm the current scope of any BCPE credential on bcpe.org before committing.
Staying Certified: Fees and 100 Points
Certification does not end at the exam:
- Annual fee: $195.
- Five-year Continuance of Certification (CoC) cycle: at least 100 activity points across at least two of five activity categories.
- Documentation and audit: keep records; ethical compliance is required.
Salary Context and Its Limits
PayScale displays a $110,000 average base salary for a credential-specific, self-reported sample of 39 respondents (updated November 12, 2025). Treat that as a rough data point, not a promise. It is a small, self-selected sample, not a representative 2026 salary distribution, and it is not evidence that certification itself causes a pay premium. Employer type, region, industry, and experience likely matter at least as much.
For a fuller treatment, see the CPE Salary Guide, and to weigh cost against career benefit, read Is the CPE Certification Worth It?.
A Domain-Weighted Study Map
Rather than a generic schedule, tie your calendar to the blueprint. Design is the biggest slice, so it earns the most hours; Analyze is a close second; Integrate is smaller but benefits from scenario practice.
Analyze (38%)
- Review task analysis, risk assessment, and data-gathering methods.
- Work case scenarios beyond the office: industrial, healthcare, and field settings.
Design (40%)
- Cover physical, cognitive, software/interface, task, and organizational design in turn.
- Practice choosing the most defensible design response, not just a plausible one.
Integrate (22%)
- Study implementation, training, validation measures, and professional ethics.
Full-length timed run
- Simulate the 125-question, three-hour, no-break experience with an on-screen calculator only.
- Review misses by domain and revisit the weakest.
BCPE publishes sample questions with answers (July 2021), which are worth working early to understand item style. BCPE does not endorse any commercial prep product, and vendor question counts or pass-rate claims are not official specifications. For a full plan, see the CPE Study Guide, and for question practice visit the CPE practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Certified Professional Ergonomist exam has 125 English multiple-choice questions with a three-hour examination window. The split between scored and unscored items is not publicly specified.
A scaled score of 350 on a 200-500 scale. It is not a 70% raw-correct threshold. Items carry equal value, forms are statistically equated, and there is no guessing penalty.
Design, at 40%, is the largest, followed by Analyze at 38% and Integrate (Implement-Validate) at 22%. Still, all three are tested, so avoid neglecting the smallest domain entirely.
You may retake the exam for $450, once per examination window, with repeated attempts permitted within the two-year application-eligibility period. After that, you must reapply.
No. Breaks are not permitted during remote testing, and leaving camera view can end the session. Personal calculators, phones, and watches are prohibited; a built-in calculator, notepad, and timer are provided.
Keep this sheet beside your official BCPE documents, and confirm any date, fee, or rule on bcpe.org before you register, since administrative details can change between exam windows.