- The Two Testing Windows in 2026
- Deadline Math: Working Backward From November 30 and April 30
- Why the Application Deadline Is the Real Deadline
- What Must Be Ready Before You Apply
- Scheduling Mechanics: Remote vs. Test Center
- Rescheduling Rules and the Source Conflict
- Planning Your Prep Around the Window
- Results Timing, Retakes, and Cohort Context
- Spring vs. Fall Window at a Glance
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CPE exam is offered in two windows: April 1-30 and September 1-30.
- Applications close November 30 for the April window and April 30 for the September window.
- The exam is 125 multiple-choice questions in a three-hour window via Kryterion, remote or onsite.
- Initial application plus exam costs $645; retakes are $450 once per window.
The Two Testing Windows in 2026
The Certified Professional Ergonomist (CPE) exam, administered by the Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics (BCPE), is not an anytime, walk-in test. Candidates sit for it during one of two month-long windows each year: April 1-30 and September 1-30. Within a window, you book a slot through Kryterion, either with online remote proctoring or at an onsite test center.
That structure shapes everything else about planning. There is no rolling monthly availability, so a missed deadline typically means waiting roughly five months for the next opportunity. If you are still deciding whether the credential fits your career, our analysis in Is the CPE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 can help you decide before the clock starts.
Deadline Math: Working Backward From November 30 and April 30
The application deadlines are tied to the window you want, and they fall well before the exam itself:
- April window (April 1-30): application deadline is the preceding November 30.
- September window (September 1-30): application deadline is April 30 of the same year.
For a candidate targeting spring, that means the paperwork must be finished about four months before you can sit the exam. For a candidate targeting fall, it means finishing application materials about four months ahead as well. Neither deadline is a formality: the application includes transcripts, a work history, work samples, ethics commitments, and fees, and each piece takes time to assemble.
Spring Window Track
- Application, transcripts, employer verification contacts, and portfolio must be submitted.
- Study continues through winter; exam falls April 1-30.
Fall Window Track
- Application package due for the September 1-30 window.
- Summer is your concentrated preparation period.
Why the Application Deadline Is the Real Deadline
Many candidates focus on the exam date and underestimate the application. The CPE is not a pay-and-test credential. BCPE reviews your education, your professional experience, and your portfolio before you are cleared to test. So the practical deadline for most people is the application deadline, not the first day of the window.
The portfolio is where timelines most often slip. Applicants may submit up to six work samples demonstrating the three competencies, with two demonstrations per competency and overlap possible. At least two samples must come from the past five years, the others within ten years, and each is limited to 20 pages. Samples must reflect your own contribution and may be redacted for confidentiality. Selecting, redacting, and writing up samples that clearly show your individual role can take weeks, particularly if client approval is needed. There is no separately timed practical exam; the portfolio is the practical evidence.
What Must Be Ready Before You Apply
You cannot book an exam slot until BCPE accepts your application, so confirm eligibility early. The headline requirements are:
- Education: either a graduate degree from a program listed in the HFES Graduate Directory, or a bachelor's degree in any subject plus at least 24 semester credits in specified human-factors/ergonomics categories. BCPE distinguishes 24 semester credits from 36 quarter credits or 360 acceptable instructional contact hours. An unrelated short bootcamp is not automatically equivalent.
- Experience: at least three full-time-equivalent years of relevant professional work. Relevant internships, research, or teaching work may count subject to review.
- Documentation: approved transcripts, work history, employer verification contacts, work samples, and ethics commitments.
No additional fixed recommendation-letter count has been verified, so rely on BCPE's current application instructions rather than assuming a number. For a full walkthrough of eligibility, see CPE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Education Credit Check
The most common surprise for career-changers with non-ergonomics degrees is credit counting.
- Total your semester credits in the specified human-factors/ergonomics categories before you commit to a window.
- If you studied on a quarter system, convert using the 36-quarter-credit equivalence.
- If you rely on contact hours, confirm that the 360 hours are acceptable instruction, not general workplace training.
Scheduling Mechanics: Remote vs. Test Center
Once your application is approved, you schedule through Kryterion. You can test by online remote proctoring or at an onsite test center. Both formats deliver the same exam: 125 English multiple-choice questions with a three-hour examination window. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified, so do not assume every question counts or that you can identify which ones do not. No adaptive format has been verified.
If You Choose Remote Proctoring
Remote testing offers convenience, but it comes with strict rules that can derail an unprepared candidate:
- Complete the system and security checks in advance, not on exam morning.
- Follow identification and camera-monitoring requirements exactly.
- No breaks are permitted during a remote session, and leaving camera view can end the session. Plan hydration and restroom use before you begin the three hours.
- Personal calculators, phones, watches, and other prohibited items are not allowed. A built-in calculator, notepad, and timer are supplied.
If You Choose a Test Center
An onsite center removes home-network and room-compliance risk. If your living situation is noisy, shared, or unreliable for bandwidth, the test center is often the safer path for a three-hour, no-break exam. Because seats are limited within a 30-day window, book as soon as your approval comes through.
Rescheduling Rules and the Source Conflict
Life happens, and rescheduling terms matter. BCPE's published pages are not fully consistent on this point. The examination page describes a 72-hour rescheduling cutoff, while the fee page describes a seven-day cutoff. Both mention a $150 late-change charge.
Because the two sources disagree, do not assume either number. Treat your own booking confirmation as the controlling document, and read the terms attached to the actual appointment before you rely on a cutoff. If you may need flexibility, the conservative approach is to act at the seven-day mark rather than gamble on 72 hours.
Key Takeaway
Treat a $150 late-change charge as a real planning cost. Confirm the cutoff on your confirmation email, calendar the earlier of the two possible dates, and make any change before it passes.
Planning Your Prep Around the Window
The exam content is organized around three domains: Analyze (38%), Design (40%), and Integrate (Implement-Validate) (22%). Design is the largest slice, so it should receive the largest share of your calendar. The official blueprint is the BCPE Examination Content Outline / Core Competencies (July 2019, implemented for exams beginning fall 2020). No replacement 2026 blueprint has been verified, so study from the current published competencies. Note that CPE and CHFP share the same professional competency and exam framework rather than separate discipline-specific syllabi.
Here is one way to map those domains onto the roughly four months between your application deadline and the exam window:
Analyze (38%)
- Work through task, job, and system analysis, hazard and risk identification, and data-gathering methods.
- Practice realistic case scenarios, not just workstation examples.
Design (40%)
- Cover physical, cognitive, software/interface, task, and organizational design.
- Spend the most time here because it carries the heaviest weight.
Integrate (22%)
- Review implementation planning and validation of interventions.
- Connect back to Analyze and Design: integration questions often assume you can trace a problem through all three.
Timed Review
- Take full-length, three-hour practice sessions to build stamina.
- Use the official BCPE sample questions with answers, then drill weak domains.
For domain-by-domain detail, see CPE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas, and for a structured plan, read CPE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. When you are ready to test yourself, our CPE practice test lets you rehearse the question style before your window opens.
Results Timing, Retakes, and Cohort Context
Results are generally provided within four weeks after the exam window closes, not immediately after your sitting. That means a candidate who tests early in April still waits until the window ends before scores are released. Plan any career or employer deadlines around that lag.
The passing standard is a scaled score of 350 on a 200-500 scale, not a flat 70% raw score. Items carry equal value, forms are statistically equated, and there is no guessing penalty, so answer every question. Details are in CPE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
If you do not pass, a retake costs $450, permitted once per examination window, with repeated attempts allowed within the two-year application-eligibility period. After that, you must reapply. Because windows are only twice a year, a failed attempt realistically costs several months.
What Recent Cohorts Show
Published cohort results offer context, but they must be read carefully. The BCPE newsletter reported 15 passes among 38 spring 2026 professional-exam candidates. The newsletter prints 40% in its table, although 15 of 38 is approximately 39.5%; the counts are the safer figure to cite. Earlier cohorts include 18 of 36 (50%) in spring 2025 and 19 of 36 (53% rounded) in fall 2025. These are shared professional and Associate-to-Professional examination cohorts, not CPE-only annual, first-time, or overall pass rates, so they should not be treated as a definitive pass rate for any single group. See CPE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and How Hard Is the CPE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 for fuller interpretation.
Spring vs. Fall Window at a Glance
| Item | Spring Window | Fall Window |
|---|---|---|
| Testing window | April 1-30 | September 1-30 |
| Application deadline | Preceding November 30 | April 30 |
| Format | Kryterion remote or onsite | Kryterion remote or onsite |
| Exam length | 125 questions, 3 hours | 125 questions, 3 hours |
| Results | Generally within 4 weeks after window closes | Generally within 4 weeks after window closes |
| Initial application + exam | $195 + $450 = $645 | $195 + $450 = $645 |
| Retake | $450, once per window | $450, once per window |
Existing BCPE Associates do not pay another application fee and pay only the $450 examination fee. After certification, annual professional renewal is $195, and a five-year Continuance of Certification cycle requires at least 100 activity points across at least two of five categories. For the full cost picture, see CPE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Frequently Asked Questions
The CPE exam is offered in two windows: April 1-30 and September 1-30. You pick your own appointment within the window through Kryterion, using either online remote proctoring or an onsite test center.
For the April window, the application deadline is the preceding November 30. For the September window, it is April 30. These deadlines apply to the complete application, including transcripts, work history, work samples, ethics commitments, and fees.
The exam has 125 English multiple-choice questions with a three-hour examination window. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified. Remote candidates get no breaks, and leaving camera view can end the session.
Yes, but a $150 late-change charge applies for late changes. BCPE's examination page describes a 72-hour cutoff while its fee page describes seven days, so confirm the terms attached to your actual booking and act before the earlier date.
Results are generally provided within four weeks after the exam window closes. If you do not pass, you can retake for $450, once per examination window, within the two-year application-eligibility period before reapplying is required.